menagerie

Big one.

  • I was riding a river-raft-like small open train car on the T with a small group of people. Tons of people were getting off at maybe North Station (it had a high ceiling similar to the Davis platform). Later I came home, though I was with some WU friends. The NH house was in Somerville or thereabouts and was a small-footprint, maybe 3- or 4-story buildingl it almost seemed to be up on stilts or like a fire tower, with living space on just one floor (maybe an apartment), with an entrance from stairs in the middle facing west, a family room on the right (north), maybe a dining room on the left (south), maybe a bedroom straight ahead (west), maybe the kitchen around the other side (east). It was sunny late afternoon at one point; later I was by myself after dark getting ready to go to bed (at that point it was more like the RL NH house). My parents returned from the presidential debate, which I realized was where all the people getting off the T had been going, and said it went well.
  • I was in a part of my parents’ house, barnlike, but it was maybe a single-story space walled/ceilinged off from a double-height space, on the west end of the larger space, daylit from over east. The walls were maybe just framing members spanned by hardware cloth and containing quite a few exotic animals, all just hanging out, including maybe birds and definitely multiple species of great apes (in the northwest) and some lions and maybe panthers (in the northeast). I had to walk past the apes and cats to exit the room to the east, which I was nervous about, but they didn’t bother me, and when I got out I closed various doors with eye hooks to keep the animals in. I went around to the south side of the room and stuff was sitting atop its ceiling, including a fuzzy cat bed with a cat, raised on the sides and back. I was supposed to tie a string across the front to somehow keep the cat in, but the cat stole the string, jumped down to the floor, and mangled it. Some people came to check in as into a hotel, and I wasn’t able to help them because the cat was causing me to drop my camera in its case etc. There were west windows by then too but the main light was still from the east.
  • Maybe right after the above: I walked east in a hallway at the north edge of a larger space into an auditorium (similar to high school but not); Peter Hook and a man and woman who were prominent British indie musicians 80s-early 90s (but I never placed who they were) were there too, preceded the rest of us (I think there were a few more people besides) into the auditorium. Hook went onstage and started playing a Chapman Stick, and when I expressed enthusiasm for seeing one in real life for the first time, he explained that he and his family had bought the plans for it and built it for cheap. It looked cobbled together from drafting and printing supplies.
Leave a Reply

