camera settings

  • On a sunny summer midday on a sea or big lake, some of my WU UD classmates were treading water/ferrying a raft, with lots of people on each side. Another classmate and I were tagging along after, able to walk on the water part of the time; we may have had big foam shoe blocks on. I discovered that my camera had a perspective setting that I’d totally forgotten about, including normal perspective, vertical-parallel perspective (as in architectural photography) which I played around with, seeing what happened to the sea horizon when I tipped the camera (it got wavy). I also noticed how it put a sharp angle in the wrong places at some points. There were lots of other perspective settings in addition, notated by fine-lined outline shape icons (rectangles, trapezoids, triangles, etc), but I didn’t get a chance to try out the rest.
  • I suddenly realized that the butternut and maple leaves still had stunning fall colors despite it being January; I snapped some pix; they seemed to be east of the house, while to the west was a semi-wooded valley sloping down from house with near and far trees, all also lovely reds. I snapped a crop through a window showing just the leaves near and far, without the window frame showing.
  • A large black bird landed on a high feeder outside to the west of the house in NH; its head looked like that of a songbird or maybe a crow, but its body was plump like a fowl; it had some red or orange spots of color and I wondered if it was an oriole.
  • My camera turned out to have another parameter, something like “spread” or “bulge”; I figured it out by looking at a carpeted ceiling while adjusting it (though I was looking at the camera while facing down somehow); it turned into a dome angle measure: 0 made a convex cusp, 90 was smooth, 180 a concave cusp, etc. I made (? draft rather unclear here) a big balloon to explain it to one of my high school teachers who was confused.
Leave a Reply

