multi mbiras

IRL I have one small mbira and was jamming on it yesterday and recording it; I now recall that last night at one point I dreamed that I had two more mbiras that I had entirely forgotten about; they were both larger than my RL one and at least one of them had an additional soundhole and set of keys, to the upper right of the main set. Both also had a small set of round black keys above the soundhole along the top edge, shaped rather like the solid keys of an oboe. I discovered all these things in sequence as though I had tunnel vision, rather than seeing all the details of each mbira at once, and each new discovery added to the excitement.

Leave a Reply

