rest stop 75

From the 24th: the only part of a more extensive scene that I remembered is that, on a sunny afternoon, the coach bus I was taking a trip on had stopped at a gas station complex that I seem to recall having those early-modernist nautical vibes. I went into the complex to go to the bathroom, which cost 75 cents, I discovered at the entrance to the restroom area, which was lit by pinkish overhead fluorescents and bounded by an unmanned counter; I got the needed quarters out of a little recipe-box-sized tin I had with me where groups of three quarters each were separated from each other by cloth or a thin sheet of foam rubber or something, folded back on itself to separate each group of quarters, set up for that very purpose (restroom payment). The driver of the bus also had to use it.

Leave a Reply

