buffalo trax

From the morning of the 12th: on a sunny mid-afternoon, I was hiking up a cliffy granite/earthy area over a lake that lay to the southeast, with evergreen woods around; I was curving around the lakeshore. Visible in the earth were separate sets tracks, looking like ski tracks but for being in the soil, that had been made by male and female buffalo climbing the hills. I learned, maybe from someone nearby talking about it, that there were specific terms for each kind of track. Subsequently I was hoisting myself up in a prone position over rock ledges directly over the water; I was worrying because the water below looked too shallow to fall in safely, but luckily I made it up to the top, where there was maybe a lodge with an outlook to the south over the lake and to the shore to the southwest. Other people were making the same arduous trek.

Leave a Reply

