transportation vignettes

12 hours of sleep means lots of dreams.

  • I was standing or walking at a corner of a woods dirt road near a house in NH — the road running north toward me but then turning east where I was, with the house to the east — and there was a surprisingly large amount of car and bicycle traffic. I kept moving further and further to the side of the road to avoid the traffic, eventually getting to the edge of a stagnant pool surrounded by riprap that was on the house side of the road. I was glad to be there because a whole group of bicyclists eventually alighted right there, with cars continuing to go by.
  • I was riding south and downhill on an open highway on a sunny day in a boxy bus-like vehicle which was sort of more like a room of a house on the inside; it contained a cupboard full of small free stuff, including a large toothpaste-tube-like container of corn syrup, which I think I decided to take, and maybe some postcards or desk supplies and the like.
  • There was a documentary narrated by Sean Penn about a new filming technology where dark was inverted with light but hue was kept constant. There were flowers and Frisbees. This documentary was sort of limbo between something I was watching and something I was actually in.
  • In the kitchen of a working-class family with young children, one of the parents was angry about the other parent getting a Family Circus book for the kids, due to the inappropriateness of its content. I was viewing this from within the kitchen and looked at the book, yet did not interact with the others there
  • I accidentally left a hat or glove on the MetroLink train and went back to the station after a number of minutes, where the train was still inexplicably there, and I got back on it and headed west (even though it had been going east) and accidentally stayed on it all the way to Sunnen, which I hadn’t been to before, and on the approach there we (i.e. I and some of my friends, who had manifested themselves on the train without my noticing) were treated with an early-twilight view of a high-rise downtown which we were riding downhill towards. I decided to stay on the train till Shrewsbury since everybody was doing it, and then ride back to Skinker (my original intent had been to ride only one stop and then return, since I had already retrieved my hat or glove, as well as the glove or hat that it turned out I had also left there).
Leave a Reply

