compendium

Oh man, I remember an almost unprecedented amount of things from last night. I think this is because I woke up twice in the night and remembered to review my dreams both times.

1. I was in my laundry room in NH discussing Death From Above 1979 with either Peter Nunns or Jesse F. Keeler himself, and I was saying how at first I’d found their sound too heavy but eventually I’d become a huge fan, listening to You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine over and over again until it was played out. We went on to try to list all the album tracks in order but lost our place after “Black History Month.”

2. I looked in the mirror one day to find that the hair on the top part of my head had inexplicably grown by a factor of about 5, so that it looked just about like my hair did before I buzzed it, and this was vexing because I had been (and am IRL) looking forward to seeing what it looked like as it gradually lengthened.

3. There was talk of a substance that when sprayed on a kind of tree would cause it to immediately sprout extremely dense new growth. I viewed an actual demonstration of this among initially brushy, thin trees at the edge of a field, and commented that it could be used for biological warfare. (RL me says “?…”)

4. I was wheelchair-bound one evening on the Common at Park Street and I sailed down a path southward through a group of gangstas toward some destination. Later I entered a rustic large screenporch where a bunch of Williams friends were, easily wheeling straight over homework on a picnic table that Dan was working on and settling by Katie and Leah. I was a wheelchair MASTER.

5. I was running with some WXC peoples and we ran into Corey’s house, down the stairs, and out the back basement-level door toward the lakeshore. It was a nice summer day. There was a stack of synthesizers on a picnic table hooked up to some speakers that were pointing out toward the lake, on which a bunch of people were recreating, and they were cranking out some music. I was pretty excited because there were multiple synthesizers. Another multiplicity of synthesizers soon appeared in a different setting. Subsequently I was riding east in a car with Corey over a double curve on some open hilly land and we were reviewing upcountry jokes.

6. I found myself in a super-small room, which was like a quarter-bath (sinks and mirrors on the west wall, that’s it) with a window to the south, in the evening, and a few of my colleagues were there with me, and we were standing around working on something, I don’t even know what. I bruised my ring finger under the cover of a desk at that point.

7. I was in a nearby room with unboarded stud walls, along with a number of NH and Williams people, looking at compact fluorescent bulbs and possibly circuitry. One bulb (this is when they were not plugged in) was blue, and another was pink and labeled “Gay” on the box. I think they were connected to wires embedded in a fabric mesh, and I tried to turn the blue one on by connecting these wires to live wires hanging out of the wall, but to no avail except possibly some smoke.

8. Thence I went into an adjacent classroom with some orange and yellow coloration, and math was being worked out on the board by some students. I was up at the board with another person who was trying to get me to remember a proof that I’d witnessed over the summer and was filled with odd one-off street terminology that I had totally forgotten. After I took my seat, one of my colleagues was asked to explain a proof and started doing so at his seat, and the teacher was like “why don’t you go to the board” and he, smirkingly, was like “well I didn’t want to waste the time of going to the board” and this generated uproarious laughter because of course he was wasting time by giving this very explanation. He went up to the board and began to explain about the Infinerati, I don’t know what this meant but it had something to do with an inherent constancy of proportion with no limitation on the size of the set considered, and this was further explicated by a full-vision animation of what looked like a South Park character moving straight toward me as the surroundings – realistic (cartoonwise) outdoors to the left and right but just white strips top and bottom, with maybe thick black strips for boundaries – receded, always keeping the same proportion of visual area, even as they accelerated out toward infinitude. Then my alarm went off.

Leave a Reply

