topography

Man, I had this all nicely written up and then things messed up and I made a backup of it but forgot to save it before rebooting the computer, and so I lost it. So here it is quicker-done than originally.

1. I was at a dorm or house at Williams I guess and this guy who was otherwise reasonable was saying how he needed a second cup of tea right as he threw most of his first one down the sink and I called him out on it with some choice vocab and he got all kinds of vexed at me and I was like “chillax, sorry about the choice vocab, but I stand by my anti-waste values” and he was still vexed. I think the other people in the kitchen were sympathetic to my views.

2. I was sort of at Tufts but physically it was more like a fusion Baxter Lawn by the Congo Church, Hancock common, and the Harris Center grounds. The sky was roily and there were black clouds eddying against the edges of the church and there was consensus that that was pretty cool. I and other people were at a picnic table on the lawny hill; they included a bunch of Hancock people who had been about 2 or 3 years ahead of me in school, and also a Tufts Architecture School admissions person, who was explaining to me that I’d need to pass a music composition test for admission, which actually just consisted of transcribing a music score as precisely as possible on a blank score sheet. Eventually everyone climbed down from the hill through a tunnel of stone stairs; the stairs at the bottom were worn down so that they were treacherous to step on, so the old people in the group had to be real careful. The stairs emerged out onto a porch or gallery, from which there was another large stepdown. Some of the old people sat on this edge and made rapid waving motions, I think as a reaction to the hazardous stairs. What.

3. Perhaps moving on directly from (2), I was definitely at Tufts, because I was going westward up a large hill into a campus, although the base of the hill was downtown Hancock. The hill was wicked steep and the path was a concrete one with frequent horizontal striations for grip. Once at the top it was CrAzY looking back down whence we’d come; it was like Driscoll Hill times ten. There were some trucks/hovercraft parked at the top of the hill, including one that was right alongside the precipice, and some people were jumping into the downhill side of the truck bed to try to get it to fall down the hill. To prevent this, I hung from the uphill side of the truck. Bill was up to his usual antics, which included piloting one of the hovercraft into the other ones to poke them. What.

Leave a Reply

