axle

– I was ruminating on the pronunciation of Castilian Spanish fricatives while hanging around a colonnade or a porch with a friend of unclear identity. Later someone cleared up for me the distinction between z and soft c.*
– My parents and I were riding in a cabin-sized cart (it was a plywood room on wheels being towed by a rope) up a mountain and I realized the way to be easiest on the structure, to minimize torque, would be to stand at the back over the rear axle, because the front axle was actually raised off the ground by the diagonally upward pull of the rope.*
– I saw assorted high school friends and asked them what they were currently up to.

* I have educational dreams.

4 Comments

  1. throughcomposed
    Posted September 10, 2006 at 9:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You mean you asked them up to what they currently were.*

    *You have overzealous latin teachers commenting on your blog. Incidentally, what is the difference between z and soft c, and was it the same difference in your dream as in real life? Was this connected to reseach you were doing earlier in the waking world? Could it be that you are the recipient of occult phonetic secrets from another dimension accessible only through a dreamlike hypnotic state?

  2. Posted September 11, 2006 at 12:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m pretty sure that z and soft c are both pronounced /th/ in Castilian Spanish and /s/ elsewhere, yet they had a distinction in my dream that I don’t remember, perhaps one of voicing. Originally, though, Wikipedia reports, z was /dz/ and ç was /ts/. In my dream I was originally thinking about just how apical the Castilian s is. IRL I have been thinking about Spanish and wanting to teach it to myself, so that would be where my fevered visions CAME FROM.

  3. throughcomposed
    Posted September 11, 2006 at 1:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    The spirit of Peter Ladefoged appeared to me in a dream and expounded for several hours on Grimm’s Law, then charged me with a mission to promote the palatalization of velar stops before front vowels (somehow setting up a chain reaction, I mean shift, which would destroy the English language as we know it) before disappearing into the shadowy mists WHENCE HE CAME.

  4. Posted September 11, 2006 at 2:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    That might be the chey to the jate beyond which lies a whole new language chcosmos!

Leave a Reply

