swamps

I don’t recall all that much from last night. Kind of the only thing that is a clear enough memory to write about is that I was in a big swampy lake (shallow enough to walk everywhere in) at late twilight proceeding into darkness, and I and the group of people I was exploring with got to the western shore and then there appeared hunters behind us who we were careful to stay out of the shooting range of. When they fired, the only way we could see them was by the dual bright white/pinkish lights from the ends of the double barrels.

Oh yeah! I remember another thing now after seeing a rainy scene on a Switzerland webcam. I was somewhere rural with open fields around and I and some people I knew were on a hilly area in the late afternoon, and a band of storms came through that were heavy enough to spawn tornadoes. We didn’t actually get hit by any, but we were definitely in the middle of a small cyclonic cell for a few minutes, like a small eye of a hurricane. Then when the squall headed on, the clouds had very discrete, blocky forms with the signature arcus (shelf clouds) of heavy T-storms extending underneath them, and one of the clouds might have actually produced a spout, but by then they were beyond us to the east and the sun was shining again so I didn’t care.

2 Comments

  1. throughcomposed
    Posted June 18, 2006 at 8:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    “…out of the shooting range of whom we were careful to stay.”

    Sorry. Don’t mind me.

  2. Posted June 18, 2006 at 9:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I found a prescriptivist!

Leave a Reply

