toothpaste

I don’t remember terribly much from last night but the few things I do remember are rather choice, and this is perhaps an optimal state in terms of entertainment value anyway. I think the general time setting of all of these was, once again, around the end of the school year.

1. I was staying in a small cabin in the woods that was part of a group of cabins; the woods sloped sharply down to the east. I was brushing my teeth one evening (the place to do this was on a deck on the east side) and put my toothpaste back on the shelf. Said shelf just happened to also slope down to the east, which seemed normal, but anyway it caused my toothpaste to fall off the shelf and onto the ground and proceed quickly down the hill. I was like “oh, darn” and scrambled down after it. Luckily the sharp slope didn’t continue far; there was a campground right nearby in that direction; first I passed by a few tents and eventually got down to a kind of open bowl-shaped area of the woods where a lot of people were just in their sleeping bags out in the open, already asleep pretty much. I searched around with my LED flashlight for my toothpaste, kind of dancing around the people to avoid stepping on them, and eventually found it lodged in a box of someone else’s toiletries. I retrieved it and went back up to the cabin and heard some official people talking to each other saying thank goodness it was just someone getting his toothpaste, they had thought it was some drunken camper causing a disruption.

2. One morning (the next morning?) I got up and decided to go running first thing. I decided on Northwest Hill but wanted to turn onto a side road to the right that turned back toward campus and came back out on NW Hill, so that the run would only be maybe 7 miles instead of 10. But the side road was really partly only a farm driveway, which was probably why I hadn’t run it before. I decided to investigate whether it was prudent to run it on the lower end of the road, and lo and behold a big yellow dog from the farm came trotting toward me to chase me and I had to jump up on it and stay there to keep it from biting me. I rode it back out to NW Hill and maybe I woke up after that because I don’t remember anything else.

3. There were Williams seniors and their families around what seemed to be like my high school. Also my friend Ben from high school was there with his family, and possibly there were other members of my high school XC team around. There was a gettogether happening in one of the classrooms, and for it Ben’s family had brought a huge dark-blue plastic bowl, sort of shaped like a jello mold, filled with Mexican layered dip, I think, except it really wasn’t anything of the sort; it was more like a sort of tiramisu with sliced almonds sprinkled around the edge inside the bowl. When I say huge, I mean about 3′ tall and quite possibly 8′ in diameter. It took up a good part of the room. The dip was familiar to no one but everyone thought it was excellent.

2 Comments

  1. Posted June 17, 2006 at 5:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jono, I don’t know what any of this means, but I think it’s safe to say that Freud would have a field day with your dreams. (As he would with mine, if I ever remembered them!)

  2. Posted June 18, 2006 at 9:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You know it!

Leave a Reply

